Finding an accommodation in Tokyo

If you plan to live in Japan for a longer time, you some day have to start searching a place to stay. There are a lot of possibilities, just as renting an own apartment, staying at a furnished apartment, hotels, share & guest houses, host families, …

I plan to stay in Tokyo for around 4 months and I know that I need to have my private space. A hotel would be to expensive for a long-time-stay and I think about looking for a host family at another time. So I decided to stay at a furnished apartment or a room in a share house. For sure, the prices in Tokyo are extremely high, but hey, Tokyo is one of the most expensive cities in the world!

At the end I decided to stay at room of Sakura House, which is kind of well-known. After looking through ALL accommodation offers I ended up with around 5 favorites. Only problem is that you can reserve the room only 3 weeks in advance. So you have to wait after finding your room and hope it is available at the determining moment.

I ended up with a room at Kitasenju where I have my own little kitchen place inside. Bath and shower are shared with housemates. I’ll have to pay 79,000 Yen for it per month.

searching Sakura House

For sure there are some other accommodation providers, too. You can take a look to Gaijin Pot ApartmentsBorderless HouseOak HouseTokyo Sharehouse and many more.

If you are looking for accommodations in Tokyo (and the rest of Japan) it’s best to start your search early and look through many offers. Keep in mind what you want and how much you can spent. At the end, you will never know if you made the right decision, but it’s always exciting trying something new in life, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

